Highlight The Important Stuff

My parents knew something was going on with me because I remember being tested for my hearing several times when I was in elementary school. However, my hearing was perfect .My parents were at a loss. All throughout my schooling, reading was  a struggle and I couldn’t fathom why someone would read for pleasure. I remember a tutor trying to get me to read Readers Digest books! How boring is that?! These books had absolutely no pictures in them ! As I grew older, I was only interested in reading things I could actually learn from like self-help books or biblically based books.

In 1992, my freshmen year of college, after variety of IQ tests. I found that I had Auditory Processing Disorder. Knowledge of the disability helped me with my academic weaknesses. Also, I sought out assistance from the University I was attending. This was a huge confidence boost and I was able to graduate in four years!

What does Auditory Processing Disorder look like?

A characteristic of someone with Auditory Processing Disorder is that they often get mentality fatigued. Additionally, because of slow processing, comprehension and memory is effected. It takes longer than average, but individuals with APD eventually “get it” !  Individuals with APD have difficulty following more that one direction at a time. While growing up, I had a hard time following directions. For example, my mom might say,” get clothes off the floor in the guest bathroom after 3:00 on Thursday, then separate the red from white clothes and put the white ones in the washer on cold.”Huh? What? To this day, I don’t separate! I just throw everything in the washer!  In regards to reading, writing and comprehension, an individual with APD may have a difficult time understanding grammar rules. Thinking back, learning the way sentences were structured was always a foreign concept to me. Additionally, I had problems developing vocabulary and understanding language. To this day, I still don’t understand phonics! Another struggle for me and others with APD may be deciphering the main point of an assignment. When highlighting the important stuff, I tend to highlight everything because it is all important!

 

 

Leave a Reply

